+scribbles

New blog—new life—who dis?

Hi friends! I’ve decided to re-introduce myself, and my blog, with a random fun questionnaire. So here goes. Happy reading!

Question 1: How sneaky were you when you were younger?

Well, I used to wait until my parents were napping, and then sneak into their room to steal from their jar of candies on the dresser. I was maybe 3 or 4. My dad told me he pretended to be asleep to see what I’d get up to, and he saw me quietly unscrew the jar, reach out and take a toddler-handful of candies, unwrapped them carefully as I ate them, and then—here’s the cool part: toddler me was reportedly seen, carefully re-wrapping the empty wrappers and placing them back inside the candy jar. As if nothing was ever stolen. I was a genius, nbd.

Question 2: What would you name your boat if you had one?

I imagine it would be some sort of a humble rowboat or sailboat. I think I’d name it The Mermaid. Iunno, I read the question and decided under pressure!

Question 3: What will finally break the internet?

Cyber warfare. Iunno, it must be caused by something really hi-tech like a killer virus that sweeps across connections and made by somebody (or group) that is pure evil and smart. Maybe somebody who was an aspiring web developer, who kept getting ignored or overlooked and s/he got fed up and decided on destruction instead. Re: future Hitler with a twist.

Question 4: What celebrity would you rate as a perfect 10?

I don’t know, there are so many beautiful people in the world (more than just celebrities)! But for those on the red carpet, maybe Jessica Alba, Shakira, Beyonce, Emma Watson, Emilia Clarke, to name some. As for the men? Iunno… Paul Walker was a great one (RIP), I kind of notice/admire/drool over/crush on the women more than the men.

Question 5: Which fictional character would be the most boring to meet in real life?

Dorothy, from Wizard of Oz. Let’s be honest, though I love the novel and film, if I met her in real life, I probably, most definitely, would think she was cray-cray. C’mon, you try convincing someone there’s really a talking tin man, talking lion, talking scarecrow, a wicked green witch and flying monstrous monkeys in a world called Oz.

Question 6: What are the best and worst purchases you’ve ever made?

Best purchase I ever made? At the moment, I can only think of my two most favourite pairs of shoes. They are strappy block heels, and I loved my black pair so much, I went and bought the burgundy pair. They are a measley $40 bucks a pair, and so, so comfortable. I didn’t even need to break them in! Seriously, take it from a (previous) server, if I can serve with these heels for 12 hours, you know it’s good. Occasionally, you find hidden treasures in places like Payless Shoesource. Props on you, shoe company (oh, and hey—bring them back)!

My worst purchase, is probably a whole bunch of clothing and apparel that I bought, and simply never wanted to wear. I mean, at some point in my life, I have to realize that just because I’ve got a petite figure and fit almost anything nicely, doesn’t mean that I buy them. And the biggest lesson of all: just because it’s on sale, doesn’t mean I have to buy it. I’m a slow learner, but in the past years, after getting rid of over a dozen extra large garbage bags full of clothing in good to brand-new conditions, and a whopping 50 pairs of shoes—all donated, don’t worry—I am learning.

Question 7: If you had to change your name, what would your new name be, and why would you choose that name?

I picked my own name, actually. Lucia. Lu-see-ah. Pretty happy with it, considering I was 8 years old when I was given the liberty to pick any name I wanted. Good thing I didn’t pick something like “Sailor Moon” (love her, but seriously, it’s a tough name to carry, without magical moon powers or a superhero lifestyle and whatnot). Funny story, my partner and I have been talking about baby names—not pregnant, not planning, just talking—and he thinks he is funny and he suggested Dad Junior. DJ, for short. He’s seriously into it. Good thing we’re just not.

Question 8: What are some things that sound like compliments but are actually insults?

I’m sure anybody with feelings can tell when they’re being insulted. Let’s just try to live with more positivity, and sincerity. Let’s be the bigger person.

Question 9: What’s a body part that you wouldn’t mind losing?

Also, let’s not go there. Unless you’re talking about unnecessary bodily hairs. Then, yup—instead of paying for my laser hair removal, let’s just lose them for free. Thanks in advance.

Question 10: What’s your biggest screw up in the kitchen?

So my first time living on my own, I was 19… Wait, before I tell you this, I have to explain that, back at home with my parents, we always had a dishwasher, however, my super Asian mother doesn’t like to use them (falsely believing they waste more water than hand washing) and so our dishwasher is literally just an extra cabinet for chinas and ceramics. Anyways, I decided to use the dishwasher at my apartment for the first time. How hard can it be, anyway? So I rinsed and loaded up the dishes, and I grabbed the dish soap, and poured some into the detergent space, and hit wash. I tidied up the rest of the kitchen and went to shower. With my hair in a towel and still half dressed, I walked out of my room to find out that the entire kitchen was covered with bubbles. How in the worl—oh. OH. So apparently there’s a real difference between dish soap for hand washing dishes and dish soap for the machines. Oops. But now we know. And when my roommate got back home, she applauded me on how “sparkly clean” the kitchen tiles were. You’re welcome!

Question 11: What’s the worst commercial you’ve recently seen? Why is it so bad?

Truth to be told, I can’t resist the urge to say: all the junk food and fast food commercials are the worst. It’s just crap messages, constantly blasting into the minds of our youth and society, and we really don’t need to hear/see these messages. We can really eat less (or none!) of their “food”, too. So just do your own body a favour, don’t buy McEvil.

Question 12: What’s the closest thing to real magic?

Love. There really is no other comparison. You’ll know when you really feel it. Whether it’s parental, companion, or romantic, you will feel the magic. 🙂

Question 13: What is the craziest thing one of your teachers has done?

Grade 10 Science teacher had a hissy fit after a loud and obnoxious classroom full of 16-year-olds, left the classroom and slammed the door. Shattered the window in the door on his way out in the slamming. Whoops. I really liked him, though. He was a good-humoured, and informative, captivating teacher, despite the door and all.

Question 14: Who is the messiest person you know?

It might be a tie between my boyfriend and my brother. It just might. At least, my boyfriend will clean and pick things up when asked. So I guess my brother takes the championship here. Not really a good thing, though…

Question 15: What problem or situation did TV / movies make you think would be common, but when you grew up you found out it wasn’t?

Lightning strikes and quicksand. Fingers crossed, now that I said this, I’m not going to get struck by lightning on my way off work today, or drive into quicksand. Both would definitely ruin my vibe today…

Question 16: What quote or saying do people spout but is complete BS?

It’s lit. Get turnt. …. …. Like, crack a dictionary, please. What is that language? I must be getting old, because I don’t get the new slang, and don’t find it cool to sound illiterate, at all.

Question 17: What’s something your brain tries to make you do and you have to will yourself not to do it?

This one is easy. My brain often tells me to annoy my partner, but thankfully for him, I have mastered my will to keep the annoyance down to tolerable levels. *wink*

Question 18: What is the dumbest way you’ve been injured?

Lying to myself and falling for someone who I knew wasn’t worth my time or love. *Mic drop*

Question 19: If you could know the absolute and total truth to one question, what question would you ask?

“Do you care for me?” I’d ask all my friends and people in my life, to spare the time of betrayal. I probably won’t ask my partner, because I trust him fully. Don’t get me wrong, I have a handful of best friends whom I love and trust, too. But this is theoretical, and I guess I’d just ask people in my life that when it comes down to wanting to know.

Question 20: What’s the most interesting thing you’ve read or seen this week?

Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson. Look it up. A hilarious recount of a life with depression. Such a good bedtime read. I recommend! Her writing language is kind of how I’ve based my recent blogs. Oh, speaking of… I have a new blog, http://www.AforAdulting.wordpress.com, check it out! Full of funny stories about my day-to-day as a (very responsible) adult.

Question 21: What ridiculous thing has someone tricked you into doing or believing?

Back at my parents’ city, in my senior high school year, the city completed a community project, which was this really cool, light-up pedestrian bridge bypass that goes over the highway. It was probably powered by whatever powered the street lights (I had hoped it would be solar powered, but I’ll never know). Anyways, at nights, it glowed a beautiful green and blue, and the lights changes from one colour to the next. A classmate tricked me into believing that the bridge eventually glows red… And one summer evening, I took it upon myself to sit in the middle of the bridge and waited maybe 2 hours for the bridge to change to red. It never did. This is why I have trust issues.

Question 22: If you were given a one-minute ad slot during the Super Bowl that you couldn’t sell, what would you fill it with?

I’d fill it with an ad to adopt the cats and dogs in the shelters. Because, obvious reasons. A home is not complete without a pet! Also, adopt don’t shop!

Question 23: What’s the most useless talent you have?

I once mastered the fictional language for the Bionicle computer game in fifth grade, so that my gaming experience was top-notch (nothing like breezing through solving puzzles in-game, when you are fluent in their written language). I still can read and write in Matoran. #nerd

Question 24: What would be on the gag reel of your life?

My entire life. Seriously, press subscribe and see for yourself.

Question 25: Where is the worst smelling place you’ve been?

The communal urinal/excrement places (“bathrooms”) in the old areas of the city of Guangzhou, China. You know the ones, the “non-toilets” without the seats, the squat-holes? Those. Ick. If you ever travel to Asia, I highly suggest you keep your pockets/purses stocked full with Kleenex packs, because there’s no toilet paper in public washrooms of the older areas of the cities. Good practice though, the squatting part. I guess.

Leave a Reply

