+beauty · +home

I am Spring born.

Admittedly, ‘Spring born’ doesn’t sound nearly as cool as ‘storm born’. But when you were brought to this earth during the beautiful March equinox, you can’t really complain. In fact, I have always loved Springtime. I am one of those fortunate souls who is not affected by seasonal allergies during this time (or in fact, any other season—‘bazinga’!) And please, for those who are less fortunate on this front, you are completely free to spare me from the excruciating details of what seasonal allergies might entail for you… I have friends and family who are allergic; I get the idea, I feel sympathy for y’all, but no empathy here. 😉

Before I get too far off tangent, I mean to share with you, my early birthday present from my mumsy-poo: my birthday dress 🙂

Early birthday present to me!
Early birthday present to me!

My mother surprised me with my present earlier this afternoon, and I was delighted when I unraveled my dress! My eyes darted, following the cute miniature bows that patterned the dress in a cutesy and feminine way. I’ve always had a soft spot for polka dot patterns, cat patterns, bows, some floral prints (I just don’t like something too pink, because I’d wrinkle my nose at things too pink). I love the retro-look. Barely vintage is my favourite fashion, and I still treasure some well-kept hand-me-downs from mother dearest (we were close in size when she was my age, and she had kept some fantastic 80’s style clothes and accessories). It is also very good timing, because the other day, I scored a perfect pair of springtime and summer-y flats for myself. Shoes are really difficult for me to find and like—that I can wear. I have both flat feet and Achilles heel tendonitis, and each day where I’m required to leave my house and walk somewhere, my custom orthotics accompany me. Since they must accompany me (or I suffer when each step welcomes discomfort and pain), all my shoes have to fit me with my orthotics in. They are my chaperone, kind of (I’m advised not to go anywhere without them, and without them, I can’t get very far. Oh, the irony). This is where those seasonal allergies may have not been so bad, at least, I think we’re both unfortunate in each our own ways… But just think of all the ways that we are so so fortunate, I mean, lookie! I got a cute dress for my birthday!

+update: I need ideas for my upcoming birthday. Dinner surrounded with friends, like I had last year (it is easiest to plan, after all) or what? If I had a little more expendable money, I’d like to go celebrate in Hawaii or somewhere tropical (where I can show off my dress, without having to cover it with a cardigan to shield myself from the Canadian winds coming over from the Pacific). What did you beautiful people do for your birthdays? Think university student, think budget, but don’t forget to think creatively. I’m all ears! 🙂

4 thoughts on “I am Spring born.

  1. This post just filled me with smiles. You have such a bubbly persona in your writing Lu, got me giggling! I think you should get to show off your dress at a fancy dinner place somewhere for sure… but I’m terrible with planning so I’ll leave it to you creative souls 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment